Leading astronomers and geophysicists honored in RAS bicentenary


IMAGE: Professor Sandra Moore Faber.
view more 

Credit: Steve Kurtz / UC Santa Cruz

The Royal Astronomical Society is pleased to reveal the winners of its medals and rewards for 2020, the bicentenary of the structure of the RAS. Each year the Society identifies considerable accomplishment in the fields of astronomy and geophysics through these awards.

The statements were made at the Ordinary Meeting of the society hung on Friday 10 January. The winners will be welcomed to gather their awards at the RAS National Astronomy Meeting at the University of Bath in July. Their accomplishments cover research study in subjects consisting of the Earth’s core, the Sun, remote things in the Solar system, the development of galaxies, and deep space as a whole. Awards likewise identify exceptional contributions in public engagement, and service to the astronomy and geophysics neighborhoods.

The Society’s greatest honour is its Gold Medal, which can be granted for any factor however normally identifies life time accomplishment. Previous winners consist of Albert Einstein, Edwin Hubble, Arthur Eddington and Stephen Hawking. It was very first granted in 1824; considering that 1964 2 have actually been granted each year: one for astronomy, and one for geophysics.

This year the winners of the Gold Medals are Professor Sandra Moore Faber of the University of California Santa Cruz and Professor Yvonne Elsworth of the University of Birmingham.

Professor Faber is among the leaders around the world in the research study of galaxies, with a long-lasting tradition of contributions throughout a large range of subjects in galaxy structure, galaxy development and cosmology. In 1976 she found, with Robert Jackson, a relation (called the Faber-Jackson relation) in between the main speed dispersion of stars in elliptical galaxies and the mass of the galaxy.

Professor Faber was among the early leaders of a design of galaxy development based upon cold dark matter, which now underpins our present understanding of how galaxies and clusters of galaxies enter into being.

She added to the styles of the huge Keck Telescopes on Hawaii, and assisted identify and fix the defect in the Hubble Space Telescope mirror.

Her Gold Medal identifies these accomplishments as part of her clinical management over 5 years.

Professor Elsworth is a leader in solar physics, with her exceptional accomplishments in helioseismology – the research study of the Sun utilizing its oscillations – exposing basic insights into the structure and characteristics of the solar interior and core. Her work allowed a much deeper understanding of our own Sun, and by using helioseismology to other stars, to outstanding structure and development in basic.

Her technical know-how, commitment and extraordinary management over several years have actually contributed in the success of the Birmingham Solar-Oscillations Network (BiSON) and in understanding the complete capacity of helioseismology.

Throughout her prominent profession, Professor Elsworth has actually played a popular function in shaping policy and one enduring impact of her work is the enhanced gender balance in astronomy.

The Gold Medal identifies her accomplishments in science, and her service to the clinical neighborhood, throughout a long and prominent profession.

Professor Mike Cruise, President of the Royal Astronomical Society, stated:

“The RAS awards recognise the achievements of an extraordinarily talented group of people from the UK and across the globe. In this special bicentenary year, we’re continuing our longstanding tradition of honouring the the very best researchers, those who rise to the challenge of engaging the wider public with our science, and those who make our science possible with their behind the scenes service. Congratulations to all the winners!”

The Society likewise grants more than 20 other medals, awards, lectures and honorary fellowships; to find out more on the awards and the accomplishments of the winners, see the complete citations connected from the winners’ names listed below at https://ras.ac.uk/news-and-press/news/leading-astronomers-and-geophysicists-honoured-ras-bicentenary-year (offered after the embargo ends, or on demand from the RAS press group)

Awards are designated ‘A’ for astronomy (consisting of astrophysics, cosmology etc.) and ‘G’ for geophysics (consisting of solar physics, planetary science, solar-terrestrial physics etc.). Some awards are offered in both fields.

Full list of awards:

Gold Medal (G): Professor Yvonne Elsworth, University of Birmingham

Gold Medal (A): Professor Sandra Moore Faber, University of California Santa Cruz

Chapman Medal (G): Professor Cathryn Mitchell, University of Bath

Herschel Medal (A): Professor Rob Fender, University of Oxford

Eddington Medal (A): Professor Steven Balbus, University of Oxford

Price Medal (G): Dr Philip Livermore, University of Leeds

Jackson-Gwilt Medal (A): Professor Roland Bacon, Lyon Center for Astrophysical Research

Agnes Mary Clerke Medal (A/G): Dr Michael Hoskin, University of Cambridge

Fowler Award (G): Dr Craig Magee, University of Leeds

Fowler Award (A): Dr Amaury Triaud, University of Birmingham

Winton Award (G): Dr Michele Bannister, Queen’s University Belfast

Winton Award (A): Dr Thomas Collett, University of Portsmouth

Group Achievement Award (G): STEREO Heliospheric Imager Team

Group Achievement Award (A): Astropy Project Team

Service Award (A/G): Ms Kim Burchell, STFC

Patrick Moore Medal (A/G): Dr Caroline Neuberg, Fulneck School

Annie Maunder Medal (A/G): Professor Roberto Trotta, Imperial College London

‘Named’ lectures to be provided at a conference of the Society:

Gerald Whitrow Lecturer (A): Professor Andrew Pontzen, UCL

George Darwin Lecturer (A): Professor Ofer Lahav, UCL

James Dungey Lecturer (G): Professor Sarah Matthews, UCL


Media contacts

Dr Robert Massey

Royal Astronomical Society

Tel: +44 (0)20 7292 3979

Mob: +44 (0)7802 877699

[email protected]

Dr Morgan Hollis

Royal Astronomical Society

Mob: +44 (0)7802 877700

[email protected]

Images and captions

Professor Sandra Moore Faber. Credit: Steve Kurtz / UC Santa Cruz

Professor Yvonne Elsworth. Credit: Yvonne Elsworth

Notes for editors

The Royal Astronomical Society (RAS), established in 1820, motivates and promotes the research study of astronomy, solar-system science, geophysics and carefully associated branches of science. The RAS arranges clinical conferences, releases worldwide research study and evaluation journals, identifies exceptional accomplishments by the award of medals and rewards, keeps a substantial library, supports education through grants and outreach activities and represents UK astronomy nationally and worldwide. Its more than 4,400 members (Fellows), a 3rd based overseas, consist of clinical scientists in universities, observatories and labs in addition to historians of astronomy and others.

In 2020 the RAS is 200 years of ages. The Society is commemorating its bicentennial anniversary with a series of occasions around the UK, consisting of public lectures, exhibits, an organ recital, a pop-up planetarium, and the conclusion of the RAS 200: Sky & Earth job.

The RAS accepts documents for its journals based upon the concept of peer evaluation, in which fellow specialists on the editorial boards accept the paper as worth thinking about. The Society concerns press launches based upon a comparable concept, however the organisations and researchers worried have total obligation for their material.

Follow the RAS on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube

Recommended For You

About the Author: livescience

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *